Skip to content

Prayer Flags 2010

January 6, 2010


According to wikipedia, “Traditionally, prayer flags are used to promote peace, compassion, strength, and wisdom. The flags do not carry prayers to ‘gods,’ a common misconception, rather the Tibetans believe the prayers and mantras will be blown by the wind to spread the good will and compassion into all pervading space. Therefore, prayer flags are thought to bring benefit to all.”

Here’s a link to an easy way to make a prayer flag
and here are some pics.

Last year I hosted a very successful Prayer Flag exchange, and I think I’d like to make it an annual event. In any case I’m hosting another one this year. Here are the details:

Join me and create messages of goodwill to spread on the wind in our little part of the world?

Send in 5 flags, and receive 5 assorted flags in return.
Have them in the mail by March 15, 2010
I’m in Canada, but I would appreciate a bit of help with the return postage costs. Feel free to enclose a couple of US $$ or send me some paypal funds. Canadian coins are too heavy, and just up your mailing costs, so if neither of those options work for you, let me know and we’ll work something out.

Each flag or panel should be made out of fabric and measure approximately 6 inches wide by 9 inches long. They should have a sewn channel at the top to run a string through (let me know if this bit is a problem for you), but they do not need to have a string. Each recipient can string them up however they’d like. (The size measurement is before the top channel is sewn, so the finished flag would be a bit shorter than that)

As traditional flags are left to fray in the wind, the other sides do not need to be hemmed or finished. They can be torn, or cut. It is up to you. Also, traditional flags come in 5 colours (green, red, yellow, white and blue). You do not have to stick to those colours, or even to any solid colours. You can make all your flags a similar colour, or all different, again it is up to you.

Each flag should have a “prayer” or wish that you would like to send out to the universe. Beyond that, you can do what you like using any techniques or media, but keep in mind that these are meant to be semi-permanent decorations that hang outdoors and fray and age over time.

Let me know if you would like to join in.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2010 6:16 am

    Hey Misti, I would like to sign up. I am going to work on mine right away so I can get them done before the Olympics start! Shouldn’t be too hard to complete-I don’t have to sew more than a straight line!

    DO you want to post this to the 12 Days of Xmas group? I know many of the participants were interested in trading! Feel free! 🙂

    • Misti Ko permalink*
      January 9, 2010 12:50 am

      Got you signed up. Thanks for the suggestion to post this to the 12 days of Christmas blog. I will go over and do that.

  2. Maria Lamb permalink
    January 9, 2010 2:30 am

    Hi Misti!

    I would like to join. The prayer flags you sent in the 12 days exchange give me pleasure each and every day!

    Xs

    Maria

    • Misti Ko permalink*
      January 9, 2010 6:10 pm

      I’m so glad you are enjoying them, and I’m equally glad you’ve joined the swap.
      M

  3. February 15, 2010 2:48 am

    Please count me in for the prayer flags. I am going to have a day off tomorrow and will work on them all day.

    • Misti Ko permalink*
      February 16, 2010 4:14 am

      Excellen Libby I’d love to have you join!

  4. Elaine permalink
    February 15, 2010 3:31 pm

    Which side do you sew the channel on, the 9″side (so that they hang wider than they are tall?)

    • Misti Ko permalink*
      February 15, 2010 5:46 pm

      The channel is sewn along the short side, so the flags are in “portrait” orientation.

      • Elaine permalink
        February 22, 2010 12:23 am

        Sign me up, I’ve bought the materials and have the flags started!

  5. February 16, 2010 11:39 pm

    I’d love to join this swap! Please let me know any other details and where I should send my completed ones to. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

