Skip to content

Menses

January 23, 2010

I received a great zine today from Heather of mismatchedsox zines. I signed up for her zine of the month club last year at one of the comicon events, and it has been great. Once a month an interesting little gem turns up in my mail box. (Ironic, that, considering the topic of this post, but to continue:)  Each one is unique in terms of content, shape, size, construction – pretty much everything. They are all just so inspiring. This month’s issue is all about, you guessed it – your (or her) period. Actually, she asked her friends and family to share stories of their periods.

I think it is a brilliant idea, and now I want to make one of my own. So here’s what I’m thinking: I’d like to invite anyone to send me a story that relates to their first period (or anything about those early years). It can be long or short, funny, sad, surprising or whatever. You can describe your “first”, give advice on dealing with cramps or avoiding leakage, tell me about any rituals you have/or had around your menarche, talk about your fears, your embarrassment with the whole topic (if you are still reading this, you can’t really be all that embarrassed, now can you?)  send in some artwork (that will still look good when it is photocopied in black and white) and/or share whatever else you’d like.

Please send your submission to me either by private message, or by email (ko DOT misti AT gmail DOT com) I’d like all submissions to come to me electronically, and I’ll assemble them into a cohesive zine (a small self published photocopied booklet). Please include with your submission the “name” you’d like your story credited to (it could be your whole name, just your first name, a pseudonym, or anonymous) and your email address. If you would like a copy of the zine when it is done, then please also include your mailing address and I’ll send you a copy. Your email and mailing addresses will NOT appear in the zine, but without it, I won’t be able contact you or send you a copy.

Please be advised, that by sending me your story and/or artwork, you are agreeing to have it printed and copied for the purposes of this zine.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Elaine permalink
    February 7, 2010 3:52 pm

    Have you got a deadline for this?

  2. February 17, 2010 11:00 pm

    I would *love* a copy of this when you’re finished. What do I have to do?
    Also, do you have a link to mismatchedsox zines? I googled it, but couldn’t find it.

  3. Misti Ko permalink*
    February 18, 2010 6:53 am

    Sorry, I don’t have a link to mismatchedsox zines. I don’t think she has a website. I’ve just run into her occasionally at local zine events. Will email you about my zine.
    M

Leave a Reply

