Skip to content

Prayer Flag News

January 30, 2010

I’ve been asked to teach a wish/prayer flag workshop, sometime in the next few months. It’ll be in a yurt which is a large circular, semi-permanent wool felt tent. They are traditionally used for accommodation in central Asia. It’s been a long time dream of mine to see a real yurt – I always dreamed that it would be in Outer Mongolia or somewhere equally remote, but Vancouver is good too. I still have to come up with a proposal and work out all the details, but I’m pretty excited about the prospect none-the-less. The timing works out well with the exchange I’m hosting as well.

The folks at the Rainier are also going to be working on making “wish flags” over the next few weeks leading up to the Women’s Memorial March which will occur on February 14 in downtown Vancouver.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Elaine permalink
    February 7, 2010 3:51 pm

    Any interest in doing a workshop on ATCs? I might be able to get my art club to bring you out for a trip either as a guest speaker to do a demo at a meeting or to do a Saturday workshop. Let me know and we could work out a proposal for them.

  2. Misti Ko permalink*
    February 8, 2010 1:15 am

    Ummm, YES, I’d love to come out to do a workshop out your way. Just one question: How much snow do you have? You know we have none here – flowers are blooming in my garden right now, and have been since JANUARY.

    Actually, I’d briefly spoken with the folks at RubyDog’s about doing an ATC workshop there, but haven’t quite gotten around to firming things up. I’ll email you.

Leave a Reply

