Skip to content

My bathroom

June 1, 2010

As I was bringing the camera upstairs to the computer today, I walked past my powder room and thought I’d try taking a photo of it. It is the tiniest room, and I wasn’t sure how it would work out.

I have a memory from my childhood of a very overgrown garden where someone had thrown out their bathroom fixtures. There was a cast iron tub, a toilet and a heavy ceramic sink. They had been there for sometime and the weeds had grown through, over and around everything. I thought it was magical, and I created an indoor – functional – version in my powder room. I have very nostalgic memories of working on that while S napped in the afternoons all those years ago. When she woke up, I’d set her up with some toys just in the doorway while I cleaned up. I had to stop doing that when she became mobile though.

Everything you see in the picture is “faux”. The “window” is actually a mirror that I painted and distressed years ago. The brick wall, wrought iron fence badly disguised fairies and ivy are all painted.  If you look on the shelf in front of the mirror, you might be able to make out a ceramic snake that A made in a class when she was about 4. You can also just see the top of the tall birdhouse cupboard that I use to stash extra rolls of toilet paper.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Darktee permalink
    June 3, 2010 2:15 pm

    This is awesome!

Leave a Reply

