Skip to content

Necklace statements

June 8, 2010

I was looking for something the other day and came across a necklace that I made many, many years ago – long before the children were born, probably even before I was married.  Somewhere along the way it had lost one of the end caps, so I did a quick repair with a tiny length of black yarn and it was good to go. It’s such a happy joyous piece that’s made up of pretty much every kind of bead I had kicking around at the time. Perfect for cheering up a rainy spring day (like the ones we’ve been having way too frequently lately). Apparently bold necklaces like this are called “statement necklaces” and they are very big for spring this year.  Looks like I was about 20 years ahead of that curve.

I’ve decided to call this necklace Rings on her Bells.  If you look carefully, you might be able to make out some of the ring shaped beads that slide over the smaller beads. It also has some little bells that tinkle as you move around.

Finding that one inspired me to make more “statement necklaces”.

In a swap on Nervousness a few years ago, I received some very nautical feeling beads. Some were obvious:  There were lumpy clay beads hand painted by Biker Mermaid with mermaids, ocatopi and seahorses. There were some little beach pebbles lovingly needlewoven with luscious bits of yarn by Sacredartist and there was even a bottle cap with little bits of sand and shells embedded in resin and a tiny pearl dangling off the end.  Once I made that connection the rolled paper beads reminded me of seashells – some of them even had tiny seafoam microbeads encrusted on them. The bead wrapped beads and the lumpy verdigris balls felt like buoys or barnacles or something decidedly oceany anyway. I added a silver chain, some hand dyed varigated silk yarn in watery colours, a few silver charms shaped like keys, locks and feathers. I threw in some aqua tinted glass beads, and dug out  a string of light blue seed pearls and it was done.  Well, it’s done for now, anyway. I’m considered creating a charm for it from a tiny bottle with a little scroll and maybe some sand and tiny shells inside. Maybe – one day.

All the beads I used here originally did time as a very chunky bracelet, but I’ve decided that I don’t like wearing dangly things around my wrist, and I spent more time taking it off so I could do important things like eat, type on the keyboard, and other more personal things. You don’t need the details, but I’m sure you get the idea. I’m much happier with them as this  “statement necklace” that I call Flotsam and Jetsam.

Have I mentioned that I love to gather things that I receive through swaps and find common themes to link them all together? I have several altered books that I’ve assembled this way. This next necklace is also made from charms I received in an online swap that were made into a chunky bracelet that I never wore. It was hard for me to find a theme here. The colours, shapes, materials and styles were all over the place. There are charms made from buttons, beads, some glass, plastic, metal, a domino, a bottle cap, some shrink plastic (including my absolute favourite one – a teeny charm with a hand drawn insect that makes me think of amber). In the end I’ve settled on the title The Faces of Letters. In addition to all the faces and letters (words) you can see, one of the charms is even made from a scrabble tile – I think the letter “F”.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 8, 2010 6:04 pm

    THose are really cool Misty!

Leave a Reply

